SuperWhoLock: The Comic

superwholockIn case you haven’t figured it by this point, I really don’t interact with fandom/the internet. This is partially because I’d like my time to myself instead of getting absorbed in GIFs, and partially because I’m so super-strict-must-stay-to-canon and a lot of fanfiction is whateva-whateva-I-do-what-I-want.

Enter SuperWhoLock: The Comic by¬†Alanna. SuperWhoLock is a crossover of Supernatural, Sherlock, and Doctor Who. I’m a bigger fan of Doctor Who and Sherlock, but I know about Supernatural well enough. But if you’re a fan of all three, you can consider yourself a SuperWhoLockian.

Now I was dubious at first. This isn’t my thing, but I gave it a shot. Ten pages, I thought. Ten pages was a decent-ish enough shot in my opinion. Forty minutes later I was still reading the thing and very excited. I was just so drawn into it and couldn’t stop. And that forty minutes didn’t count the twenty minute break I took for a phone interview. I was just that sucked in.

I really loved the art style. I can easily see someone getting turned off by the black and white. And it does get hard to tell who is who sometimes, especially Castiel, since he doesn’t appear too Castiel-like in some angles. But I think it gives the entire thing a grittier, more down to earth feel that really works with the story.

And I guess the real reason I really love it is because it is so in line with everything’s different canons. Castiel is very Castiel, Watson is pretty Watson, and really it’s only Sherlock that strikes me as a little off. I might be the only one who thinks this, but I think Sherlock would be way more down for thinking angels were real than Watson. Even according to Sherlock’s own logic (“When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.”), it seems like it would be fairly easy for him to accept Castiel as an angel and for Watson to be skeptical. So I was slightly confused when it was Watson who accepted it and Sherlock confused.

Anywho, all of the gripes I had with it a fairly minor in the grand scheme of the comic. It is very coherent and a delight to read. Here is the Table of Contents; start on page one of the prologue. You can do it.

Send a Hologram

