When Skimpy Clothes Just Aren’t Enough

Let me just start out by saying that I am not into the comic scene here in the States. In fact, I probably couldn’t tell a Marvel character from a DC character even if they wore buttons with their company logo on it. However, due to Tumblr and G4, I have managed to keep up with some of the news from Comicon and let me just say that I’m glad I never went. I realize that the comic business is a boy’s business (but what isn’t?) but there’s a point where it needs to stop.

According to a Tumblr thread (via: Emmy Cicierega), Dan Didio, apparently co-publisher at DC Comics, has recently come under fire after replying to a question at his Q&A in a less than friendly manner. The question? “Why did you go from 12% to 1% on women creative on creative teams?” This is a legit question especially concerning the portrayal of woman characters in DC comics and just having diversity in the workplace in general. However, Didio strongly interrogates the man asking the question demanding, “Who should we be hiring?”

Didio’s question in and of itself isn’t bad, but the tone in which he replies blatantly shows that he quite honestly gives no shits about this issue. I understand the aversion to being told what to do (especially when it may put you in a bad light, no matter the answer) when one is so used to running things. Nevertheless, this was the wrong reaction. Surprising? No, not really, but there is no excuse.

I guess the good thing that is coming from this is that a new audience is realizing just how sexist the comics community is. From this, many are putting forth support for the female comic-ing community and bringing to light artists that maybe have faded into the shadows. There’s also a petition for offering up females involved with comics. I’m not sure how much this will help anything (it is an internet petition, after all) but it’s a useful resource for seeing just how many women are in this line of work. Hopefully, there will be a change in DC’s line-up, but I highly doubt it.

Things like this are just brutal reminders that we, as women, are good enough to parade around in superhero costumes but not necessarily considered worthy enough to work on the characters themselves.

This entry was posted in DC Comics, feminism and tagged , , by Tsunderin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tsunderin

Greetings and salutations! Feel free to just call me Rin—we’re all friends here, or nemeses who just haven’t gotten to know each other well enough. I’m a video game lover from the womb to the tomb, and Bioware enthusiast until the day they stop making games with amazing characters that I cry over. And while I don’t partake as often as I used to, don’t be surprised to find me poking around an anime or manga every once in a while either. A personal interest for me is characterization in media and how women in particular have been portrayed, are being portrayed, and will be portrayed in the future. I’m not going to mince words about my opinion either.

3 thoughts on “When Skimpy Clothes Just Aren’t Enough

  1. Pingback: When Skimpy Clothes Just Aren’t Enough « Tsunderin

  2. No offense, but like a lot of people online, you jumped to a lot of conclusions about the comics community being sexist. I don’t like Didio’s choices, but I doubt he spends much time oppressing women.

    Didio asked who they should hire, because that is EXACTLY the right question. You say you know nothing about American comics. Nothing wrong with that, but you’re commenting on something you know nothing about. If you don’t have any female writers/ artists to suggest hiring, how can you say there aren’t enough women in comics? I agree that there are probably loads of women out there who could do the job better than some men in the industry. But you assume they’re being passed over for jobs. How do you know how many are applying for them? I’m not saying sexism doesn’t exist or isn’t at play in this industry or any other, but too many people making your argument make them without bothering to find out the answers to basic questions.

    As to the decrease in female creators at DC, it turned out that was much ado about nothing. DC didn’t fire any female creators. They just didn’t have them working on specific books in September. However they all have books coming up in the next couple of months. And apparently they hired another female creator. There’s an article on newsarama about it. Also, I’m pretty sure Didio’s boss is a woman.

    • Hi there! First off, I’d like to say thanks for taking the time to comment! I appreciate you letting us know that you share an interest in what we’re writing about on some level. That said, I think you misinterpreted the tone of my post a touch. I realize that this was a hot-button issue and that many were eager to jump all over the comics industry as a whole and perhaps I did that as well, but I wasn’t trying to villainize Didio as a person but rather how the industry as a whole is less inclined to look further into female artists/employees. Didio, I’m sure, doesn’t spend his time consciously looking for ways to screw women out of work, but at the same time in this Q&A he didn’t come off as trying to promote equality or even deeming it as much of an issue. That was what I had a problem with: his snubbing of this aspect of business. He seems to have listened to the outcry, however, as he has stated that in the near future he is looking into more projects with females at the forefront. (see: http://dcwomenkickingass.tumblr.com/post/8238833046/dcc)

      Also, you tell me that I shouldn’t comment on something that I know nothing about, but my ignorance on comic book characters and such doesn’t mean that I have no insight on the industry itself. I have friends that work in it, I had a professor that was very vocal about his time working with Stan Lee; I can say with some sense of certainty how sexist the industry can be. Yet, there are many vocal proponents that are against this sexism and are trying remedy it and I have the utmost respect for them. But since the dawn of the comic-age, they have been made by men for men and that is a hard ancestry to break from.

Send a Hologram

