Theatre Thursdays: Christina DeCicco Appreciation Post

 

As I mentioned in my Evita post Christina DeCicco is one of my favorite Broadway actresses (I almost had to correct myself and say “musical theatre actresses” but then I remembered that she finally made her Broadway debut and can be classified as a Broadway actress, yay!).

I first heard of her when she joined the Touring Production of Wicked as Glinda. Now let me say that when it comes to Glinda I have some high standards and specific things I want to see in an actress so just because she played Glinda did not mean I would instantly love her. The fact that she played Glinda with intelligence, heart, and ambition was what made me love her.

As always when I fall in love with a performer I mined for recordings of Christina in other shows and found that she had played many roles I loved and played them very well.

After Wicked Christina played Eponine at the Walnut Street Theatre in Philadelphia.

As per usual, she knocked it out of the park. Her Eponine was strong and capable and not so pathetic as I think the role can sometimes come off.

Her next role of note was Cindy Lou Huffington in the Off-Broadway production of The Marvelous Wonderettes, a role she took over from Victoria Matlock who played Elphaba opposite Christina’s Glinda in the Wicked tour! I know little of this show other than it was about a group of four former prom queens who made a little singing group to perform pop hits around their town and that Christina got to show off some of her amazing vocals:

(Love how cute you are, love that incredible control over your vibrato)

(Seriously. This video. Don’t tell me you aren’t impressed with the power coming out of this little lady)

Well, hopefully I’ve done Christina some justice with this post. Maybe now you’ll see why I’m so very unable to decide when to see Evita because this young woman is just such a phenom.

Please visit her official website for more info, pictures, videos, etc:

http://www.christinadecicco.com/

Send a Hologram

