Trailer Tuesdays: G.I. Joe 2

This is a trailer that fills me with the opposite of excitement. I didn’t watch the first one and I have no plans to watch this. Of course, planning and doing are entirely different. I mean, hell, when I see something that looks potentially this bad for a big-budget film, you can rest assured that I’ll get at least a couple pages of ranting up on this blog.

Maybe my dislike for G.I. Joe stems from my complete indifference to the franchise as a child. I didn’t care for it and I wanted nothing to do with it. Then, they made a movie. I’m not going to blame them for that. Success is success when it comes to money. And it wasn’t as though anyone forced me to go see it. But the first movie did not do well. Rotten Tomatoes gave it around thirty-five percent, and while I don’t always agree with them on whether a movie’s good or not, the critics there certainly know more about movies than I do.

Yeah, this trailer looks fun, if you’re into this sort of thing. Personally, all that I think is missing from it is the giant misogynistic and racist robots, but we already have that movie. Maybe my problem with G.I. Joe originates my inability to take the franchise seriously. Sure, I didn’t feel this way watching the Transformers trailers, a franchise that also started as something for children, but when I think G.I. Joe I think of toys for really small children. In fact, my mind goes straight to something like this:

Maybe I’m being a little hard, as I haven’t seen the newer movie and don’t really know the story, but this never struck me as something that originally had a story. They were just toys. Yeah, I think there was a cartoon series for it. What famous toy didn’t get one at one point? But compared to something like Transformers, I don’t think it held up. The whole G.I. Joe movie just seemed like a way to get more money, and that’s the way this sequel feels thus far. The first one did poorly, but they know enough people will see the next installment for a pretty sizable profit, so of course they’re making one.

I don’t know. The franchise just seems listless.

This entry was posted in movies, opinion, Reviews, Trailer Tuesdays, tv show and tagged , , by MadameAce. Bookmark the permalink.

About MadameAce

I draw, I write, I paint, and I read. I used to be really into anime and manga until college, where I fell out of a lot of my fandoms to pursue my studies. College was also the time I discovered my asexuality, and I have been fascinated by different sexualities ever since. I grew up in various parts of the world, and I've met my fair share of experiences and cultures along the way. Sure, I'm a bit socially awkward and not the easiest person to get along with, but I do hold great passion for my interests, and I can only hope that the things I have to talk about interest you as well.

Send a Hologram

