Web Crush Wednesdays: Flutiebear

I think you all know by now, but I really like video games. However, the extent to which I like them is vastly overshadowed by the community on tumblr. About half a year ago when I was on a really strong Dragon Age kick, I started looking for more. More about the characters. More about the settings, the lore, everything. And boy, did I find it. Due to her fabulous write-ups, I quickly became enamored with Ms. Flutiebear’s tumblr.

I started reading with her DA-ily challenges, in which she explores different questions. I’m sure you’ve all seen the ’30-day Challenge’ type questionnaire with things like “favorite character” and “most hated quest” for example. But wheras each question could have been answered in about a sentence each, she continues on and on getting deliciously meta. One of her favorite topics is the narrative style in Dragon Age 2, and due to reading these I have a much greater appreciation not only for the game itself, but also for the people behind the game.

Even if Dragon Age isn’t really your thing, she brings up marvelous points about characters and narration in general which I’m sure could help any writer at their art. She also runs a podcast now with one of her friends, Knickerweasels, which is a continuous exploration of the game verse along with a dose of feminism. Flutiebear also has a love for Supernatural, so if you’re interested in that show I’d take a look to see what this intelligent lady has to offer.

This entry was posted in opinion, Video Games, Web Crush Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , by Tsunderin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tsunderin

Greetings and salutations! Feel free to just call me Rin—we’re all friends here, or nemeses who just haven’t gotten to know each other well enough. I’m a video game lover from the womb to the tomb, and Bioware enthusiast until the day they stop making games with amazing characters that I cry over. And while I don’t partake as often as I used to, don’t be surprised to find me poking around an anime or manga every once in a while either. A personal interest for me is characterization in media and how women in particular have been portrayed, are being portrayed, and will be portrayed in the future. I’m not going to mince words about my opinion either.

Send a Hologram

