The Hobbit Trilogy

So I’m sure that most of you have probably heard this by now, but Peter Jackson has announced that The Hobbit is being turned into three movies. Now, if you hadn’t heard this before and you think I’m making this up, here is the BBC link that tells you the same thing.

How do I feel about this? Well, a little confused. Supposedly, there is going to be a decent amount of footage from the appendices and (I’m assuming) enough background/character development of each dwarf to fill another three hours. I’m going to be really honest: I do not care about all of the dwarves. I can hardly keep them straight, and most of them are just names in a book. They have hardly any character development the way Tolkien wrote them. In a sense, that is fine because (essentially) they weren’t that important in the grand scheme of things. I was fine not knowing about them. I’m not so sure I’m as okay with Peter Jackson pouring their personalities down my throat.

And what about all that stuff in the appendices? I’m going to be honest: I didn’t read that. My feeling is if it were important enough for me to know, it would have been in the central text. If Jackson wants to have screen time and character development for every minor character, maybe he should just give them their own movie. But this is Bilbo’s story, and in my opinion it should stay that way.

How do you feel about this? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “The Hobbit Trilogy

  1. I think it’s about feeding the cash cow again, i cannot see how The Hobbit can be three films when the story doesnt need it and when LOTR needed probably six movies. A brace of movies never fits will though and three films does fit with the beginning, middle and end to story telling i guess.

    • I’m just afraid of what the new and extra content is going to be. Because all three movies are going to be three hours since Peter Jackson is directing them. My guess on breaks in the story is arriving Beorn’s (bear man) house is the end of film 1 and escaping Mirkwood is film 2.

Send a Hologram

