Ghibli in 2013: Returning to Their Roots

Christmas came early for me, it seems: yesterday while browsing Tumblr I discovered that Studio Ghibli has announced both of their movies for the 2013 season and both of them have so much potential. Both of them also hold the distinct trademarks of the two well-known directors that have presented us with such beautiful and thought-provoking films in the past.

From Isao Takahata’s branch we have Kaguya-hime no Monogatari (The Tale of Princess Kaguya). Perhaps better known under the title The Tale of the Bamboo Cutter, the movie seems to be a traditional re-telling of the old tale. Takahata’s style definitely takes traditional Japanese notions and brings them to a modern audience in an act that always came off to me as a desire for his audience not to forget where they came from. In terms of people at Ghibli, Takahata is the one that I would trust most with a story like this since and if the art style on the movie poster is any indication on how the movie will be animated, this film is going to be just gorgeous.

From the other side of Ghibli, we have Hayao Miyazaki’s newest venture,

Kaze Tachinu (The Wind Rises). From what I’ve been able to find on this movie so far, it seems as though it’s based on the life of one Jiro Horikoshi, a fighter plane designer. Any fan of Ghilbi movies should recognize the resemblance to one of Miyazaki’s earlier films, Porco Rosso, and I can only hope that it will be just as charming.

Although there’s little information out on either right now, I’m excited to see the progress and reception of these films into the New Year.

This entry was posted in Anime, Hayao Miyazaki, movies and tagged , , , , , , by Tsunderin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tsunderin

Greetings and salutations! Feel free to just call me Rin—we’re all friends here, or nemeses who just haven’t gotten to know each other well enough. I’m a video game lover from the womb to the tomb, and Bioware enthusiast until the day they stop making games with amazing characters that I cry over. And while I don’t partake as often as I used to, don’t be surprised to find me poking around an anime or manga every once in a while either. A personal interest for me is characterization in media and how women in particular have been portrayed, are being portrayed, and will be portrayed in the future. I’m not going to mince words about my opinion either.

2 thoughts on “Ghibli in 2013: Returning to Their Roots

  1. Pingback: Trailer Tuesdays: The Wind Rises | Lady Geek Girl and Friends

  2. Pingback: Trailer Tuesdays: The Tale of Princess Kaguya | Lady Geek Girl and Friends

Send a Hologram

