In Brightest Day: Hermione Granger

I’ve always been interested in the things J.K. Rowling did not mention in the text of the Harry Potter series. Quite honestly, I find the story that isn’t told much more interesting than the story that is told.

In this vein, I wanted to look at the damage that the war with Voldemort would cause to the trio—specifically which kid would’ve suffered the most post-war. And you know what I found out?

It’s a miracle Hermione isn’t in St. Mungos.

Let’s just look at the horror that was supposed to be Hermione’s seventh year in Hogwarts. First, she is forced to erase her parents’ memories of her. She then sends them to Australia  in order to protect them from Voldemort, who may attempt to use them to get to Harry.

Now, I have never been in a situation similar to Hermione’s, nor do I have magical powers. However, if I was in that situation and I did have magical powers, I still don’t know if I could deal with the emotional turmoil that would come with voluntary erasing myself from my parents’ memory.

After that, Hermione had to go on the run with Harry and Ron, constantly dodging dark wizards while attempting to keep her best friend and her true love from killing each other because of Slytherin’s locket.

But that’s not the worst thing Hermione has to deal with. After the trio is captured and taken to Malfoy Manor, Satan’s Mistress herself, Bellatrix Lestrange, tortures Hermione. This is Bellatrix we’re talking about here. There is no way she “lightly” tortured Hermione. The torture would’ve been long, drawn out, and painful.

Hermione’s screams echoed off the walls upstairs, Ron was half sobbing as he pounded the walls with his fists. Harry was not even sure that it had really been there. He tilted the shard of mirror this way and that, and saw nothing reflected there but the walls and ceiling of their prison, and upstairs Hermione was screaming worse than ever, and next to him Ron was bellowing, “HERMIONE! HERMIONE!”

Reread this chapter. Bellatrix did not treat her well. And even though she escaped Bellatrix’s grasp, the events of the torture, combined with losing her friends and family, would have made the day after the Battle of Hogwarts horrible.

Now, it’s almost certain that Hermione found her parents. I’m sure Rowling has said as much in interviews, although I couldn’t find any transcripts of it. But you don’t just bounce back from this. The painful memories would’ve lingered for a while. I hope Hermione found therapy, or at least some sort of comfort, because while Hermione is the smartest of the trio, I think the weight of the events that she has experienced would’ve hurt her the hardest for the longest.

Send a Hologram

