Sexualized Saturdays: Using sex as a “fix” in fanfiction

I don’t frequent fanfiction websites much. I create original universes in my stories, and I’m bothered when people create scenarios with characters I write that make no sense. However, it’s amazing when fanfiction writers are able to break down scenarios that existed in the current universe but weren’t tackled by the original authors.

An example of this is one fanfiction I read today that floored me. The story discussed George Weasley’s pain coming from losing Fred in such a way. It went into the depth of his pain, and included Angela Johnson helping George deal, complete with a romantic relationship. I loved the story. It tackled emotion that readers knew was already there, but went into bigger detail before going back to the original JK Rowling-created universe.

However, more often than not, fanfiction writers decide to “fix” characters, often creating original characters that use sex and romantic relationships to “fix” what if plaguing the character. And I can’t stand this.

For example, one story I read had an original female character help Ron Weasley get over Fred’s death by sleeping with him. In the end, Ron finds that he can deal with his emotions by sleeping with this OC rather then having a healthy relationship with Hermione (or anyone else).

I’m sorry, but that makes no sense. I’m not hating on the writing style. I’m hating on the fact that the OC fixes Ron with sex.

In another story, Ron and Harry are dared to kiss in order to “test their manliness.” This kiss leads to a romantic relationship where the two find out that they are gay. The writer makes Hermione out to be a gay-bashing hater, using the “manly” kiss as a way to torture Ron and Harry by denying un-allowed love.

Excuse me, but this author can go to Hell. How dare you use homosexuality as a weapon? And why make Hermione, a character who has an entire story line where she argues for tolerance and rights for House Elves, a gay-basher? You could even bother to think about any logic behind such a ship?

I’m not hating on Harry/Ron, or pairings really. I’m hating on lazy pairings that use sex as a cure. It’s garbage writing. If you are going to do a sexual pairing, please have reasoning behind it. I don’t need a great reason, but I need logic.

Send a Hologram

