Trailer Tuesdays: Digimon Adventure tri.

You guys, I never thought this day would come. No, like, literally, I never thought this day would come because Digimon Adventure and Digimon Adventure 02 already ended with all the protagonists saving the world, and there was even a terrible Harry Potter-style epilogue in which all the wrong people got married and had kids.

But then this appeared on the internet.

It’s so hard to react to this. Digimon was one of the first anime I ever watched, and one of the few I cared enough about to watch in both its subbed and dubbed forms. I’ve watched and rewatched it so often that I actually have blogmate anecdotes that directly relate to Digimon. When Syng and I first met, I forced her to watch Digimon: The Movie with me, and it’s anyone’s guess how we stayed friends after that. (I also made her read my Digimon fanfic. I was in high school and it was bad.) When Saika and I went to Japan together in college, she was completely confused about why I was so excited about visiting Tokyo’s man-made island, Odaiba. (Shh, no one tell her.) Dom and I only met recently, but we still bonded over our affection for both Pens hockey and Digimon Adventure.

digimon adventure tri

Me: I mean, I shipped Matt and Tai, so.
Dom: Yeah, even when I didn’t know about gay stuff, I shipped Matt and Tai. Everyone shipped Matt and Tai.

Given all that, I hope it’s understandable that my first reaction upon hearing the news was actually just sheer disbelief. Even though we know next to nothing about the plot of the new Digimon Adventure tri., Digimon’s kind of like my comfort anime, so it’s still exciting for me. I’m hyped about the song in the trailer, all the original voice actors returning (at least the Japanese ones), and just about everything else in the trailer, from the little digivice sound at the beginning to the whistle at the end.

I still have a lot of questions: did Mimi really come back from her dream home, New York City, after the events of the movie? Is the 02 gang going to be in this series, and if so, will Daisuke be any less annoying? What’s up with that new art style? Will Taichi and Yamato continue to be ambiguously gay? (Probably.) But unfortunately, until we get more information or until the series premieres, it looks like we’ll have to wait to find out the answers. Whatever happens, hopefully the producers decide not to go with that awful epilogue and let the characters develop more organically instead.

Digimon Adventure tri. is rumored to have an April 2015 premiere date—that is to say, next month. Will you be watching it? I certainly will.


Follow Lady Geek Girl and Friends on Twitter, Tumblr, and Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Trailer Tuesdays: Digimon Adventure tri.

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursdays: Digimon Adventure | Lady Geek Girl and Friends

  2. Pingback: Digimon Adventure Tri: Digimon’s Grown-Up Reunion Party | Lady Geek Girl and Friends

Send a Hologram

