Trailer Tuesdays: Star Wars Rebels Mid-Season 2

The second half of Rebels’s latest season has already started airing and we’re already a few episodes in, so I am getting to this trailer just a little late. Regardless, with the exception of Leia’s introduction, most of what we see in the trailer hasn’t happened yet. This is unfortunate, because every moment of this trailer is filled with awesome, and so far, the same looks to be true for all the actual episodes. Take a look:

Oh, my God, this is one of the best things ever.

I have no idea where to even begin when talking about this. When this trailer first aired, I ended up watching it no less than twenty times in a row. I was so excited to know what was going to happen that upon each rewatch I kept hoping to see or notice something new. I didn’t know what about the upcoming episodes I would love the most: Ahsoka fighting Vader, Leia being awesome, Sith lore and temples, Ahsoka fighting Vader, cross guard lightsabers, more inquisitors, more temple guards, Ahsoka fighting Vader, or the numerous references to the Expanded Universe. Maybe I’ll get lucky and Darth Revan will become canon again. It looks like that’s where the show is headed. Episode VII also certainly went out of its way to create numerous parallels between Kylo Ren and Darth Revan.

Right now, the only things officially considered canon are the movies, The Clones Wars and Rebels cartoons, and a couple novels and comics. Everything else—such as the video games—are not canon anymore, and that includes Knights of the Old Republic, the game about Darth Revan. However, the EU was later renamed as Legends, and that is really exciting, considering that Ahsoka begins the trailer with a voiceover where she tells us that there’s truth behind every legend. Then right after she says that, the trailer becomes EU galore. What looks like a bunch of Hammerhead ships—ships from KotOR, which I still sadly haven’t finished—show up. We’ve got Sith temples and Sith holocrons, and the holocron looks like Darth Revan’s. There are just so many references to the game, and I really just want KotOR to be canonized. I want my Darth Revan to be real!

Other than Revan, for me, the biggest thing about this trailer is Ahsoka’s confrontation with Vader. The short scenes we do see are just so emotional and there’s so much going on. When Vader speaks to Ahsoka, he uses Anakin’s voice, and I literally cannot tell if he’s mocking her with her emotions in order to get her off balance or if he’s genuinely trying to reach out to her. Part of me is also really worried that Ahsoka is not going to make it out of Rebels alive. I was pleasantly surprised when she survived The Clone Wars, but much like The Clone Wars, Rebels is a show filled with characters who don’t show up in the later movies. Ahsoka’s impending death seems pretty likely at this point in time.

*cries forever into a void of despair*

*cries forever into a void of despair*

Ezra Bridger, our main character, also gets tempted by the dark side in the second half of the season. We see him getting ahold of a Sith holocron and we also see him being greeted and manipulated comforted by Darth Maul, who is probably still on a quest to murder Palpatine. There are a couple different theories surrounding Ezra and his future right now. The two big ones are that he is either Kylo Ren’s real dad, which I can’t really say I ascribe to, or that he founds the Knights of Ren and becomes Darth Snoke. I will admit that the Darth Snoke theory really fits his character. Not only is Ezra being tempted by the dark side, he also finds a crossguard lightsaber as well. Furthermore, his teammate Sabine comes from Clan Wren of House Viszla—whom many of us will remember as the leader of the Mandalorian terrorist organization Death Watch during The Clone Wars. Wren is obviously different from Ren, but they are pronounced the same, and in Episode VII, there is a Mandalorian standing with the other knights during Rey’s vision, so it is entirely possible that the knights have ties to Mandalore.

But just in case anyone is curious, Darth Snoke is obviously Jar Jar Binks. Jar Jar just aged really poorly, okay!

But just in case anyone is curious, Darth Snoke is obviously Jar Jar Binks, not Ezra. Jar Jar just aged really poorly, okay!

I can’t possibly talk about everything going on in this trailer or what their significance is to the rest of the Star Wars universe at large, especially since I have not finished KotOR and have to rely on Wookieepedia to tell me what happens. If you want to see a more in-depth breakdown for the trailer and an expansion on some of the theories I just mentioned, and a bunch I didn’t, I would check out Seaichifilms’s videos on YouTube. (I didn’t even notice the Mandalorian Knight of Ren until they pointed it out.) You might know Seaichifilms as the people behind the epic fan movie Knights of the Old Republic: Broken Souls, which I need to go watch right now.

As a Star Wars fan, this trailer and what it means for KotOR was one of the most exciting things I’ve seen and I have never been happier to be a fan. Time and time again, Star Wars Rebels has proven to be an amazing show with wonderful characters. Just about everything in Rebels has been phenomenal, and so I know whatever direction the show chooses to go, it will do a good job. The next episode is called “Legends of the Lasat”, and it looks like we’ll finally get to learn about the backstory behind the massacre that nearly wiped the Lasat to extinction. The episode airs tomorrow, and if you guys are Star Wars fans who haven’t been watching Rebels, you need to go catch up right now.


Follow Lady Geek Girl and Friends on Twitter, Tumblr, and Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Trailer Tuesdays: Star Wars Rebels Mid-Season 2

  1. I haven’t been keeping up with Rebels season 2, but this definitely makes me want to start again. Rebels does a pretty good job of developing its themes and characters and building the larger Star Wars Universe, so it’ll be interesting to see what they make canon again! I hadn’t thought about Kylo Ren paralleling Revan, but it makes sense now that you’ve pointed it out. Do you think Rey is going to parallel Bastila Shan’s arc at all?

    • In some ways I think Rey already does. I’m not sure how I feel about that, because I’m really not a Reylo shipper, but the link I put in about Kylo and Revan also talks about a Rey and Bastila comparison. I thought the comparisons are very interesting if you want to check that out. At the same time, I may just be finishing for anything to make Revan canon.😦

Send a Hologram

