Trailer Tuesdays: Pete’s Dragon 2016 Official Trailer

A little while ago, I reviewed the teaser trailer for this movie, and my initial impression was that it looked too dark and muted. Thankfully, the newer trailers make the movie seem much brighter and more in line with the original in terms of tone. Unfortunately, something about the remake still seems a little off to me, and I finally realized what it is: the dragon is a total dick in this version.

In the original Pete’s Dragon, the dragon, Elliot, befriends children who need help. As such, Elliot spends the movie helping Pete escape from the abusive Gogan family and finding a new family that will love him. Once that is done, Elliot flies off to help another child in need. If the same benevolent attitude is true for the newer Elliot—helping children who need help—then he is not doing a very good job this time around.

Our 2016 Pete has been living out in the woods for the past six years with only Elliot to take care of him. While helping Pete survive is certainly benevolent, I now find myself questioning why Elliot didn’t fly Pete back to civilization so he could go on helping more children who need it. Maybe there will be an explanation for it in the film, but right now, I’m drawing a blank when thinking of reasons.

In the original movie, the only time we see Pete and Elliot hanging out in the woods is when they’re hiding from the Gogans after Pete first runs away. Immediately afterward, they head right into town so Pete can find someone to take care of him. The newer Elliot, on the other hand, just keeps living with Pete in the woods, denying him the right to interact with other humans, access to some probably much needed healthcare, education, shelter, clothes, and so on. We even see that when Pete first comes across Grace, he’s scared of her. That’s not benevolent behavior—that’s selfish and damaging.

And this is a miner point, but Elliot now looks like some stupid generic CGI dragon. This is not the adorable, apple-eating cuddle monster of the original that was so bad at being fierce he’d forgotten how to breath fire.

And this is a minor point, but Elliot now looks like some stupid generic CGI dragon. This is not the adorable, apple-eating cuddle monster of the original that was so bad at being fierce he’d forgotten how to breath fire.

Compared to other Disney remake movies, I’ll give the 2016 version of Pete’s Dragon props for being original, but if I’m finding this many problems with it from the trailers alone, I’m not sure how enjoyable I’ll find the rest of the movie.


Follow Lady Geek Girl and Friends on Twitter, Tumblr, and Facebook!

Save

This entry was posted in opinion, Trailer Tuesdays and tagged , , , , , , by MadameAce. Bookmark the permalink.

About MadameAce

I draw, I write, I paint, and I read. I used to be really into anime and manga until college, where I fell out of a lot of my fandoms to pursue my studies. College was also the time I discovered my asexuality, and I have been fascinated by different sexualities ever since. I grew up in various parts of the world, and I've met my fair share of experiences and cultures along the way. Sure, I'm a bit socially awkward and not the easiest person to get along with, but I do hold great passion for my interests, and I can only hope that the things I have to talk about interest you as well.

2 thoughts on “Trailer Tuesdays: Pete’s Dragon 2016 Official Trailer

  1. The original was the first movie I ever saw in a theater and I REALLY hope they don’t screw it up. There does seem to be some potential for this to be a cool and different take but if they try and go more than very slightly down the “dark and gritty” path… sigh.

    I’m hoping the trailer is only playing that aspect up to generate buzz but the altered backstory alone is indeed VERY disturbing in its implications for the tone of the film.

  2. Pingback: I Sure Did Watch the Pete’s Dragon Remake | Lady Geek Girl and Friends

Send a Hologram

