Sacré Bleu! A Christopher Moore Masterpiece

Image

I'm Blue.

Bonjour à nouveau délicieux les lecteurs!

The illustrious Christopher Moore has once again made me sing his praises, in French no less! Yes, yes, I understand, enough with the French already. This time however I cannot help it! His latest novel composition Sacré Bleu!  A comedy d’Art is one that cannot be brushed aside. If you love art history or appreciate art, or want to read about artists’ shagging (hey, it’s a perspective) this is a great book for you.

The story is set in 19th century France, the heyday of Parisian bohemian artists.  Here we follow the story of a young baker/painter (though not a painter of bakers) Lucien Lessard contrasted by the little drunk debaucher painter Henri Toulouse-Lautrec. It all begins with the curious death of the notoriously unstable Vincent Van Gogh. The two Frenchmen find the crazy Dutchman’s death to be shady at best so they begin to investigate it. Along the way we are introduced to the many famed artists of the 19th century, including Monet, Renoir, and Cezanne at their poorest and unappreciated. We learn about their lives, their loves, their dreams, their delusions, and of course above all: their women. However, do not be fooled fellow artistes! These artists are not the highlights of the tale. No. That lies in the armature arms of blue. This world is a canvas that is impasto with blue. From the intense presence of the Colorman to the form of the alluring Juliette this colorful collage of characters are sure to have you crying sacré bleu!

Vous serez belle en bleu!

3 thoughts on “Sacré Bleu! A Christopher Moore Masterpiece

  1. You’ve convinced me with your flamboyant review! 🙂 As a fan of his writing, I was surprised that I missed this one. Luckily, I do a weekly check in at bookreportradio, where I noticed it in the line up. I’d missed the live broadcast, so listened to the online archive of the show (which was a good thing, cause somehow I’d also missed Mary Higgins Clark’s latest-age catching up on me) and decided it was a must read for me. I’ve since heard the hard copy is a beaut of a book…can’t wait to get my hands on it!

    • Thanks, flamboyance is a must! Its always good to hear from fellow fans of his work. The book is much more beautiful in reality, pictures just don’t do it justice, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Comments are closed.